What’s new in Spotify

Lots of exciting changes in Spotify recently and we thought we’d walk you through all the latest features!

Turn up the Radio

Yes, that’s right – in addition to Artist radio, you can now serendipitously discover your next favorite song with Radio.

Just click on the Radio tab and select a genre of your fancy to get the tunes flowing!

Share Button

We’ve added a Share button within the client to make sharing the music even easier. Spot it next to all your tracks and playlists!

Playlist Sharing

You asked for it and we listened! You can now share an entire playlist too! Simply click on the Share button which will open up a dialog box for one click sharing to Facebook, Twitter and all your Spotify friends. To share with the buddies on your People list, click on the Spotify tab within this box and start typing your friend’s name – autocomplete will make the process simple and instant.

Smart Inbox

Our Inbox now has a set of icons to indicate whether the shared goodie is a track, an album (disc icon), or a playlist (note icon). We also pumped up the Inbox tab notification to a vibrant red so you can easily see when someone has sent you something!

What you share and how to control it

Spotify is all about sharing and discovering new music. It’s entirely up to you what you decide to share and what you keep private.

To control your sharing settings, just go to your Spotify Preferences. Here you’ll see an ‘Activity Sharing’ section. To share the music you listen to with Facebook, make sure the box is checked. If you’d rather not share, just uncheck the box. It’s that simple.

Who can see my music?

Your public playlists can be seen by all your friends.

Your “Top artists” and “Top tracks” are also visible. If you want to remove a playlist from your public library, click on your own name at the top of the People list, select “Edit” and then turn off the playlist you don’t want people to see.

If you only want to share a playlist with a specific person, just click on the share button on the playlist view and choose the Spotify people tab.

Share Playlist

To save yourself time, you can choose to automatically publish all your new playlists, or none of them. Just go to your Spotify Preferences and tick the box in your Profile section.

Update: Many of our users have told us that they like to share what they’re listening to, but also want an easy way to hide their occasional guilty pleasures. So we’ve now added a new ‘Private Session’ mode to our latest update.

You can turn it on from the Spotify menu and it will stop sharing what you’re listening to until the next time you log in.